It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents' jobs.

We are living in a competitive world with many students graduating from universities and hunting for jobs. But when it comes to what kind of job their children should choose, parents offers different opinion. Some believe it would better if their children choose the same jobs as they do, while others think the exact opposite. Personally speaking, I agree with the statement that it is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents' jobs. In this essay, I will elaborate my reasons.

First of all, since the parents has had so much experiences of working in a certain field, it will be easy for them to give practical advice to their children on jobs. When people first enter a working environment there is so much things to learn. And if you have a parent who has learn all about it for many years, that will make things a lot easier. The guidance they provide can really help you avoid mistakes which they have suffered. It's like having both parents and mentors. On the other hand, if you choose a job that's much different from your parents', then you are complete on your own in term of jobs.

Secondly, if children choose the same careers as their parents, their parents can help them with future success. Parents who have been in working jobs for decades must know a lot of people in the same field, so they can easily introduce such connection to their sons or daughters, which can mean a lot for having a successful career. For instance, the former president of US, Gorge W Bush, must had got much help from his father, who was also once a president, in term of politic relationship. And if a person choose a very different job from his parents', he has to spend great efforts to build up such relationship.

In a nutshell, because of the advice and working connection parents can bring us if children choose the same work, I think it is better than the other way around.