is it better to preserve a long-term friendship with a few people or to find new friends easily

Without the shadow of doubt, friendship is one of the most important aspects of our life since childhood. Actually, except our family, friends are the most impressive, and subsequently, helpful people in our life. Controversy surrounds the issue of whether maintaining a friendship with a small group over a long period is crucial or to keep it with many new friends. I am of the opinion that it's better to be able to preserve long-lasting friendships with a few people instead of so many new ones. the following explanations will further elaborate on this perspective.

To commerce, a long-lasting friendship can bring about mutual recognition, which is the most important issue in the process of friendship. In fact, people need someone to talk with, laugh with, even live with and so on. these tasks are the main purpose of a relationship between two people. Broadly speaking, people built up a relationship to achieve these vital goals. Obviously, it takes a long time to be able to recognize someone's characteristic. Take myself as an example, I established a friendship with my friend since we were nine years old. During these twelve years of relationship we are thoroughly familiar with our moral facets and it is the main reason that this relationship is growing even better every year and we both don't want to ruin it because we need each other to sooth our pains that life, inevitably, imposes.

Secondly, loyalty is among the prerequisites of a successful relationship. Basically, people start a friendship to enhance the quality of their life, not to damage it, and loyalty is the key factor to have a good relationship. As a matter fact, a loyal person would put his best effort to help his friend and would take his friend's success as his. As now the importance of loyalty is clear to us, I would like to claim that loyalty will be brought about during a long-time period. For example, my friend has a newly-come friend and talked her about all her secrets in life. Unfortunately, she was not a reliable person and revealed all these secrets and caused a lot of problems for my friend. If she was an old friend, I am sure that loyalty would avoid her from revealing the secrets.

To sum it up, we should all be able to preserve a long-term friendship with a few people, because it would definitely guarantee our happiness. Hence, the key factors that this relationship can provide happiness lay down in loyalty and also mutual recognition that are both build up during a long period of time, and certainly with a couple of people.