Is it as important for older people to learn and study new things as young people to do so?

Experts emphasize that maintaining mental and physical abilities is the best way to avoid cognitive decline in older adulthood. Studying and learning new things can open up one’s mind and horizon. There is without doubt that the importance of older people to learn new things has been greatly discussed in the society.

Firstly, the famous psychologist Maslow has proposed his research about the human’s mental needs. The research indicated that self-actualization is the most vital item which can help people gets confidence and happiness. The people at their older ages are usually retired from work, they don’t have to chasing the fortune or compete with other workers. However, most people would feel depressed after depriving of work. Studying new things, for instance, physical exercise, healthy eating and doing crossword puzzles can encourage older people have chances to establish their own achievements.

In addition, learning new things is benefiting for the mental health of older people. To facilitate learning new things, older people can borrow lessons from childhood. In the process, they have to think the concepts of the project, interact with other people and organize their ideas. All of these methods can stimulate their brains, improve their cognitive functions, and prevent them from the diseases such as Alzheimer’s disease or mental deterioration.

On the other hand, the ability to live independently require periodic adopt because of changes in our environments, especially due to technological advances. This means learning new things such as smartphone or website is important. If older people avoid learning these skills by themselves, they will need to keep asking others to do stuff for them. It would make them lose the ability to live independently and cause their fear of new things.

In sum, the results of older people learning new things have positive impact on their mental health and self-actualization. Studying new things brings older people out of their comfort zone, and makes them feel fearless about new challenges. At the start of learning, many older people thought they could barely walk a mental mile, but they completed the triathlon.