It is important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Every individual has their own way of studying. However, the two most common ways are either memorizing facts or learn the concepts behind the facts. Most people might choose the option to just study the facts. Personally, I believe that it is better to go deeper into concepts than just learning the facts. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, learning about the concepts and ideas will leave no room for doubt. This will clear out any confusion and obstacles they might face later. If students understand any concept clearly from school, it will be easier for them to solve any sort of complications they might face while doing their homework or assignment. Moreover, they do not have to wait for anyone else to help them elucidate the problems they face. For instance, one of my friend who graduated as an engineer had to face difficulty while giving the interview for a job. He was asked to answer a technical question, which he was unable to because he was not sure about the answer he had in his mind. He passed every exam in university only by studying the lecture and the notes. He did not bother to go deeper into the subject or learn anything practically. Hence, now he had to lose a huge chance to work in his dream company.

Secondly, clarification of concepts will stay in our head, where just memorizing facts will not. If we understand the reason behind why a particular thing happens, this will remain in our head for a long time. However, if we just memorize information from the text or lectures, this is transient, i.e. will stay temporarily. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in high school, I had difficulty in understanding physics. I used to only memorize the facts but later on test days, it was hard to remember of face conceptual questions. That is when I started to work on understanding the concepts than just memorizing the information. This has helped me not only remember the facts but also face the conceptual questions.

In conclusion, I strongly believe students should focus more on the depth of any subject rather than just going over the facts. This is because this will clear any sort of confusion or doubt for them and whatever they study will remain in their head always.