It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends

Humans are social animals and so, they need to interact with other humans. Lack of human interaction can lead to chronic depression and many such mental issues. In the current scenario, it is very difficult to find trust worthy and loyal friends. Hence, I agree with the statement that it is important to keep our old friends.

Old friends are the people who we already know, it is easier to open to them and rely on them for emotional support. However, this will not be the case with new friends as we have to spend quality time with them, in order to trust them emotionally. For example, if you have a friend who has been with you from many years and who knows about your family situations and your problems then it is easier to share your problems with him or her rather than with someone who barely knows you and cannot empathize with your problems as your old friend.

The base for any relationship is loyalty. A friend cannot be loyal if he or she gives up their friendship for a new one. Such people will be deemed selfish and untrustworthy. Therefore, a good friend will not give up an old friend in order to accommodate a new one.

The crime rate is rapidly increasing in the world and most of these crimes are done by close acquaintances. Therefore, we should be very vigilant in choosing our friends. Since, an old friend is someone whom we already trusted, there is low risk from that person. Whereas, in making a new friend, we have to careful enough to check his or her background before getting close to him or her.

Although, this does not imply that one cannot make new friends after a certain limit. This will make the person narrow-minded and inflexible. The person should ensure that his or her old friendships are stable before making a new one.

Hence, the above points delineate the reasons why it is important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.