It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

The prompt says that preserving the old friendships is more crucial than the new ones. I totally agree with the prompt's statement for two significant reasons, which I will discuss in the following essay.

To begin, having friends for a long time, creates a common area where the friends' interests meet. Therefore, no interests conflict will happen. This is best demonstrated by my personal experience. Last year, I had to move to a new country because of my husband's job. Consequently, all my old friends that I know have been changed. Thus, I met a new friend and as time passed, we had a good friendship. In the beginning, our relation was good, but later after a few months, we realized that our interests were remarkably different. For instance, my friend usually goes out every weekend and asks me to go with her, but I usually prefer to sit at home with my family or even study. This interest contradiction causes plenty of quarrel between us. Quite the opposite, if this situation is with my old friend, we will not quarrel with each other as we understand that every one has his own life-style.

Second, old friends have built a strong relationship which lets them to excuse each other. For example, If I agreed with one of my new friend to hang out in the weekend, but suddenly I changed my mind. Old friends in such situation have the mentality to excuse because they have lots of situation that proof the good-intent of the late person. However, my new friend thought that lateness was irrespect to him, instead of thinking in a good way and execusing me. Therefore, old companions have long history and situations that are evident for real love and respect between them.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that keeping old friendships are more important than creating new companions. This is because old friends as time passes, can understand each one's interest, and thus the conflict will be rare. In addition, unexpected situations and a sudden mindset changing will not be interpreted as unhomage, but they will excuse and condone. Therefore, I believe in having one old friends for entire life is more comfortable and essential than making new friends.