It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

The education system always be the debatable problem and people have different viewpoints about how it should be. I personally concur that students should get the whole gist instead of memorizing facts and elucidate my idea by following explanations.

First and foremost, student should learn material to put in their long term memory and never be forgotten. So, by memorizing the facts they might remember it for the exam but it soon will be forgotten. A vivid example is myself. I was really expert in memorizing facts and formula in physics but now I forget all of them, but what I am able to remember are concepts of physics' laws. As a result, students should put furthere attention into understanding the whole concepts of their lessones.

Secondly, if students want to create their future life and career based on their knowledge, they need to comprehend the whole material not just by memorizing it because in real job they must apply their knowledge on a specific problem and this happen when they understand the whole basic subjects. For example an electronic engineer solve the electricity problem of an instrument not by memorizing the problem but by understanding the reasons of it. Therefore, it is important for students to learn how to come up with an idea by using their previous understanding of their lessons.

Additionally, comprehension is an instrument for applying facts. Students need to understand ideas and concepts if they want to apply facts and that's why they first need comprehend and then use facts. So, this show the importance of understanding above memorizing facts.

In conclusion, due to nature of forgetting memorized facts and need of understanding the gist, the importance of getting the whole concepts is more than learning the facts.