It is more important to work at a job that you enjoy than it is to earn a lot of money

Do you agree or disagree with the above statement? Use specific reason and examples to support your opinion.

In my opinion, a person should choose what he likes rather than choosing something on the basis of how much money can be earned. Money cannot buy passion and inner happiness from the satisfaction which can be earned through the work which we like most.

First of all, a person choosing a work or job which he loves to do, always help him to achieve success. As success is not a measure of how much money a person earns, but rather it is how much happily and satisfactorily he is successful in his life. We can also understand this by taking the example of Steve Job, founder of Apple Inc., he chose to do what he always loved and passionate about; rather doing something which can hamper his overall performance. People can flourish in their careers, if they choose the right path on the basis of their own interests, irrespective of what other professions can offer them in monetary terms.

Moreover, if a person chooses to do the job according to his core interest can help him to achieve the monetary success as well. According to my experience, there was person in my software development team, he was intelligent and hard-working person but he tried to put his best efforts to improve his performance in the software development. Being his lead, my Senior HR manager asked me to have a meeting with him. During the meeting, I tried to find out the problem areas of low performance; that 1 hour discussion with my team member helped me to understand that the person chose software development because he feels that this profession can offer him a good amount of money, but personally the person feels good himself in website designing. I tried to help him to understand the other side of choosing a position where he feels his competencies lies, and majorly, to understand that money would not come if he is performing poorly on his current position. Our management took a decision to give him a chance to work as a website designer, and here we saw a change; his overall performance started improving once he started working as a designer. Currently, the same person is working with a renowned Technology company as a website front end developer and earning very good package. Consequently, money comes after knowledge and good performance, not ever after being on a high position.

Furthermore, it is always better to improve the productivity of any individual, if they are happy at their, and there are reasons, they become an asset to the organization and can earn good income as well as they feel good personally. “Sound mind, sound body” help them to manage their families in a better way rather than stay stuck in the work and running behind money in the false hope of success. Additionally, a productive person can serve society better, because we all contribute to our society not only with money but also with our good deeds.

To encapsulate, the above mentioned points and examples substantiate my stand and I agree that a person should choose a job that he enjoys doing and feels passionate about, without running after money only. A person will definitely get successful in terms of profession as well as income when he chooses right career and works with full dedication.