Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a 'Palean' basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The brim river is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans coiuld have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument?

While this argument cited the discovery of so-called Palean basket, this author's argument does not make a cogent case for the basket's origin from Palea or Lithos. This argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to draw a conclusion that the basket was not uniquely Palean.

First of all, the argument believed that the basket is related to the Palean people without providing evidences to prove that the Palean people first made that type of baskets. If the basket was found in the their village, it doesn't prove that the basket was related to them only. To strengthen the argument, the author could have provided the strong proof which can show the patterns of making the baskets in the discovery of Palea village.

Additionally, the author stated a archaeologists discovery where they found similar basket in the vicinity of Lithos village. The study doesn't show the concrete connection of the basket with Lithos people and supporting evidences that Lithos people made it and did any trade with Palean people. The assumption that the Lithos village is situated across the Brim River near the Palea village doesn't prove that connection of basket with Lithos. To strengthen the argument, the author would benefit from implementing the correct sources to show any pattern which justifies production of the baskets in Lithos village.

Furthermore, the author never clearly mentioned the correlation between Lithos and Palea villages which are situated across the Brim River. If any research happened in the Brim River area to find the Palean boat for the collecting the evidences of any trade activity between the villages, then nowhere is mentioned the area of research to completely justify that no boat was found. It is also possible the area covered during the discovery was small or large, and there could be some other modes of commuting between the villages. There are many unanswered questions like how much area was covered to find the Palean boat? or Was that river existed during the existence of Palea and Lithos villages?

Thus, the argument is not helping us to conclude that who made the baskets. The author's argument is not likely significantly persuade the conclusion that the basket was not uniquely Palean.