The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While the argument cited a memorandum provided by a business manager of a television station where the station is facing some issues related to its shows broadcasting and loosing contracts. This author's argument is rife with many unwarranted assumptions, thus to draw any conclusion would be very hard that the station should restore its broadcasting timing to its former level.

First of all, there is lack of available evidence on the past year data related to the timing devoted for national ,local and weather news. The author never stated anywhere that the timing for telecasting the shows was really changed in the past year. Memorandum has not been clearly represented to make any final decision by the television station on its time table.

The argument is hanging around the second assumption that last year the viewers made complaints regarding the coverage of weather and local news. Here, the author never satisfied its reader as most importantly the sample size of the complaints and viewers is not mentioned. For instance the received complaints could be from a few viewers who have the concerns related to the local and weather news as they don't want to watch national news. Insufficiently, the provided details are not enough to incorporate that all the viewer of television station were facing the same issue. To strengthen the argument, the detailed data of viewers, complaints and show timings should have been provided.

Additionally, the argument took into consideration its third assumption that local businesses were cancelling the contracts. Mainly, the argument doesn't provide any evidence of true reason of cancellation of the contracts by the local businesses. May be they are facing other issues like cost expenditure, contractual term and conditions issues, good deal with other television station and many more. The argument also doesn't make any strong point by providing the sample of cancelled contracts. moreover, the local businesses were advertising them during late-night news programs and station never avoided their advertisement, they just shifted them at different time. To strengthen the argument, the author could be benefited by providing strong evidence on reasons and sample size of cancelled contracts.

Furthermore, the argument is taking into consideration an assumption that by reversing the timing for the shows can surely increase the viewers and helps them to gain the local business's advertising contracts. There is no correlation between the show timings and the viewers as if any viewer really like a show, they could wait for that and decision of the local contractors.

Therefore, the argument is not strongly standing on its provided details, and it is likely hard to convince by the author to conclude that reversing the show timing can help the station to gain its viewers and contracts back. The argument should provide strong evidence through memorandum to make any final decision by the station.