Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

“The function of education is to teach one to think intensively and to think critically. Intelligence plus character - that is the goal of true education.” quote by Martin Luther Jr. King helps us to understand the essence of the true education as well freewill to think creatively and pursue those dreams. The issue statement maintaining its position with the main idea that the person should choose where they likely to succeed and educational institutes can persuade their decision of choosing any field of study. The paramount role of the educational institutes is to shape the future of students by providing them the right direction to their aspiring field of study. The function is not limited to teaching or changing their mind what students want to do, but to guide them where they can excel on the path of their dreams by choosing the field of interest.

Foremost important, the educational institutes offer the right platform to students where they start practical implementation of the concepts, they are learning. Since the beginning, a child starts from a school, he learns a lot in terms of education, his own capabilities and builds an understanding where he actually want to go. The whole collected information assist in cultivating his mind’s capacity to think what he wants to pursue in the future, and when it comes to actually land on the ground of the dream field of education, he should get the right direction to pursue that dream of success. In this manner, if educational institutes plays a role of dissuading his mind from pursuing the desired dream; it creates disinterestedness and loss of curiosity in the study. Steve Jobs, founder of Apple Inc, dropped out in the first year of his school due to lack of performance in academics. His teachers did not believe in his capabilities and never gave him a chance to show, but remarkably, an intellectual and aspiring personality strived for innovation and succeeded in his life.

Additionally, educational institutes are supporting pillars to students’ creativity, more they endorse their creativity, the more the student flourish because a human being feels utmost enthusiasm when one is passionate about it. Importantly, an educational institute is a place of motivation where one expects to follow the future, not to get demoralized by leaving their interests behind. Instead, educational institutes should act as true guide to encourage the freewill of the students’ ideas and aspirations by identifying variety of options and align them to students’ capabilities. Undoubtedly, institutes can help the student from making any wrong decision by accurate support, without suppressing their desires.

Nikos Kazantzaki, “True teachers are those who use themselves as bridges over which they invite their students to cross; then, having facilitated their crossing, joyfully collapse, encouraging them to create their own.” Students should feel the liberty to choose what makes them happy; it actually increase the enthusiasm and productivity, rather than what has been imposed on them. For instance, Benjamin Franklin discovered electricity, he had not been told by anyone to do that or he couldn’t do, it was him who listened to himself and converted his creativity and innovative ideas into a revolution. Also, leader in Artificial Intelligence, Andrew NG, always welcomes students from different backgrounds to join AI because the field is not restricted to technology only; it is beyond that. So, true education should not have boundaries, it is limitless and students have right to explore according to their freewill.

Moreover, sometimes the success determined by the monetary income and job position and educational institutes persuade a student’s decision from taking any program on those ground of success measurement. Success is not limited to monetary value somebody is earning or job position he holds; the person who is passionate about their field, they also find ways of success. Admittedly, success is one result, but not whole value of education; one should maintain their particular area of interest where it should actually feel the essence of success. Success follows who dream and work for their aspirations.

Hence, educational institutes play a vital role in building students’ career with correct guidance and a great encouragement. They should not deviate the aim of true education by persuading a student’s decision and piloting them to equate their learning to the measure of material success. The true essence of education is one’s own curiosity of study and educational institutes should advocate the true aim of education.