Learning about the past has no value for those living in the present.

They say that human beings study on the lessons of the past, and one can bring experience from the past into his future. Moreover, someone may indicate that the lack of experience in such areas as medicine, architecture and building is directly related to the past.

For me the previous events are of great value, which can be brought through generations in our future, making the progress more realistic. I believe, that human activities nowadays somehow repeat the “pattern” of our ancestors, because we still try to find out the most effective and reach sources of nutrition by growing advanced plants, we construct buildings, using the knowledge taken from the past. In addition, we do not invent anything new every moment in time, but we actually use our knowledge to improve, for example, the construction characteristics of our houses, or to increase the living age by boosting the medicine practices. We do use the knowledge and experience, developed and gained somewhere in the past.

Furthermore, “knowledge is power”, they say, which implies that people working in such areas as politics feel themselves as a much stronger and a comfortable on the meeting with foreigners. There is a concept of making the visit of foreign colleagues more comfortable in order to strengthen relations between the countries by recreating the traditions from the past, for example, by using national dress or by cooking national dishes for the guests. Similarly, anyone seeking to make foreign friends need to have at leat basic understanding of the culture of the nation of the potential friend.

By the same token, there are a lot of things brought from the past. One of them is the current status of different countries. For example, we know that one country could provide the rest of the world with highly nutritious plant as potatoes, the other country produces the best computers because they have the technology, which became a real through making a substantial research in the past.

In conclusion, we study the world through learning lessons from the past and gain our own experience through making mistakes. Our history is to some extent the driving force behind the progress, however, each individual must nonetheless decide for themselves whether it is still a worthwhile expense.