Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today is yesterday’s future, but also is tomorrow’s past in the same time. If the sense of time passing make human live in a hurry to benefit every present moment, forward and dream about the future, learning about the past helps us understand ourselves, come over troubles and have a meaningful life.

First of all, the past provides us a context from which to understand ourselves in the present. Learning about artifacts, for instance, helps us discover the mystery about the beginning of human life. Then, we knows our first human ancestors appeared between 5 million and 7 million years ago; they used to live in caves, hunt and gather for foods, or live in herds to protect themselves away from danger, as well as the immigrations of human, the formation of civilizations, and the developing of cultures, …Through learning history, we will realize the present is the accumulation of events, plans, decisions done in the past… So, to really understand where we are in life, to locate our positions and roles in the flow of history, it is crucial to actually know what our ancestors did and why.

Additionally, the past can be a great teacher and sources of wisdom. The life time of a person only can last just about 100 years, but history is accumulated from generations to generations for millions of years. Pervious people wrote their experiences and knowledge, and left us priceless sources of information to explore the world. Besides of learning about the history or experiences from other people, looking back about our own past also help us to complete ourselves in the present. For example, in front of some directions which can change our lives, we sometimes feel in trouble, stuck or confuse. Thinking about the failures we experienced, and our origin goals we set in the past can help us make a wiser decision, and avoid making similar mistakes.

Furthermore, learning about the past teach us appreciate the present. As I mentioned, what we have today is resulted from previous events in the past. The past also teaches us each person is not a single individual, but hidden in he is his culture which connect closely to social, and is continued from many generations. Understanding the past, we understand the meaning of our ancestors’ sacrifice for us. Specifically, being a Vietnamese, living in a country which experienced many wars for nation defense, we keep our heads down in gratitude with people who devoted their lives to protect the country, as well as appreciate people who keep the peace today. Thus, we also feel more appreciate the value of present life and spend it more meaningful. Without knowing what happened in the past, unintentionally, we become ungrateful people.

In conclusion, the past hold so much information, so much wisdom, and so much value that we cannot ever accumulate in our whole life time. Learning about the past does not mean dwelling on or reside excessively in it, but revise it, learn from it for living a better life in the present.