Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern era, technology has been widely considered to be developing at a galloping rate. Hence, this progress has resulted in various breakthroughs in different areas, one of which is learning about past events. The disputatious question which arises in this regard is whether learning about the past has no considerable benefit for people living in the present or not. Although some people are the leading proponent of this notion, I firmly hold the opposite view. In what follows, I will elaborate on my reasons to elucidate my standpoint aptly.

First and foremost, should people learn about the past, it can lead them to make wiser decisions. Getting familiar with history enhances our horizons. It provides us with valuable resources; thus, it helps us think about our life from different points of view. It enables us to consider more positive and negative aspects of choices. As a result, we can select with open eyes. Consider my personal experience as an example. When I was 18 years old and wanted to choose a major in which I pursue my higher education. I read the history of the pioneers of electronics and understood how electrical engineers had changed the present and future generations' lives. It motivated me to choose electrical engineering, which I contend that one of the wisest decisions in my whole life. It shows us that past events can help us determine the best option.

Another noteworthy reason for learning history is its contribution to our mental health. In other words, when we read about past events and know how the promotion of technology revolutionizes our lives. Indeed, it helps us feel more relaxed and wind down. By contrast, today's people live under the incessant pressure and tension imposed by the hectic daily schedules they have to cover high living costs. Some people work from ups to down. Accordingly, they have a higher risk of growing anxiety. Learning history and understanding how technological devices facilitate our everyday life can ameliorate their busy life. As an illustration, one can point out the recent and comprehensible research conducted at the Center of Social Studies at the University of Tehran. Some eminent researchers have concluded that people who at least have read three history books have a higher sense of satisfaction than ones who have not read. It tells us that reading history books can contribute to our mental health.

To sum up, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one can surmise that learning about historical events is worthwhile. It is because it not only promotes our perspective but also maintains our mental health. All in All, it is highly anticipated that people tendency towards learning about past events will surge in the next decade. It is worth mentioning that it is not a whole story, and several reasons not mentioned above challenge my standpoint. Therefore, I recommend that a survey evaluating the effectiveness of my points is held.