Is learning a foreign language good or bad?

Generally speaking, with advancement of technology and more availability of computers, internet, smartphones and tablets all around the world learning language is really much easier than before. People at all the nations have access to internet and as result, access to huge amount of data that is available for them to learn every language they want almost for free. In past they had to pay lots of money for classes and only were limited to language courses that were available in their towns. Nowadays they can choose whatever language they want to learn by using technology such as downloading language learning applications at smartphones. Some may think it is good idea to learn a foreign language. Some may think it's useless and not necessary. In my opinion learning a foreign language is very important for many reasons.

First and foremost, by learning a foreign language, especially the ones that are more international and available in many countries you will have access to more knowledge that are available in those languages because by learning new language you will gain access to new sources that available in the native language. For instance, an English poet will have better understanding of the Persian poems by learning the Persian language. Although there many translated books available for those poems, but when you learn a language you will have better understanding feeling of those poems rather than using translated books. This is also true for other sciences. Sometimes there are many books that are only available at their original language. As you can see learning new language will improve your understanding toward different countries and maybe even you gain better understanding of different cultures and rituals all around the world which was almost impossible for you without knowing their language.

Second, learning a foreign language will give you more chance and opportunity other than your own country for living. For instance, back to high school I started learning the Turkish language. At first, I thought it was useless. But after finishing high school admitted to a university at Turkey and studied my bachelor degree at Turkey. Besides that, you will have chance to make international friends and broaden your social life.

All in all, though some may oppose my opinion, it is clear that learning a foreign language will have good impact on everyone's life.