Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children

Life is changing at an alarming pace due to various technological advancements influencing every aspect of our life. Life Sixty years before was very different than life today and life sixty years ahead is beyond today's imagination. Such a tremndous progress in every aspect is virtue of combined effort of researchers, engineers, politicians, doctors and all the other occupations. I am very well convinced with the statement that Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children which i attribute to technology, health care and education sectors.

First adressing technology, I consider it as a major influential factor responsible for changing lifestyles. In our grandparents era all the daily chores had to be done mannually starting from washing the dishes, laundry, heating and cooking the food to walking miles of distance for work or buying household items. At maximum they had access to bicycles for their comfort. All of their work was physically straining hence were left with almost no leisure time or time for themselves in which they could pursue their hobbies. In contrast, now a days all of the daily chores have become automated by introduction of dishwashers, washing machines, microwave ovens, induction cookers and going out is limited only by our ability to drive ie we can drive to every corner of the mainland even be it thousands of miles apart. All this has made lives relaxing and comfortable and reduced the human physical exertion hence creating a lot of leisure time to work on our hobbies.

The second major revolution is improvemnt in health care systems and progress made medicine has not only helped to cure many of then believed uncurable diseases but also increase the life expectancy rates. Earlier there was no vaccine availible for Polio, Tuberculosis and many people suffered polio since their childhood and many died because of Tuberculosis because of lack of avalibilty of vaccines. US president Roosevelt could not walk because he was suffering from polio but now most of the countries of the world are polio free. In addtion to this now a days even organ transplants are availible and most of the diseases are curable which was not possible 60 years before.

Even in the Education sector much progress has been noted. There was a time when going to school was only afforded by elite or royal class in India, but at present every single child under the age of 15 is enrolled in primary, secondary or high school and gaining education. Increase in acedemic qualification increases the job opportunities and a constant source of income making lives much more comfortable than it was earlier.

Therefore considering the Health care, Technology, Education as major influencing factors to make lives comfortable and much more easier than when our grandparents were children.