Read and think about the following statement:

Pets should be treated like family members.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons to support your opinion.

A family is a group of people whom we can always count on in our toughest times, Love and understand each other and live with harmony. Pets are the domesticated animals who make a part of our life and love with us like our family. In my opinion, Pets should be treated like family members due to the fact that pets contribute to a lot of happiness in our life.

Pets are very faithful and can be trusted upon and they never go against their master's will. My friend Rohit had a dog whom he loved a log and the dog was always faithful to him. During his bad times, he had to lose everything in his life, his property, girlfriend and even he left the dog because he did not have enough money to take his care. The dog was very loyal and faithful to him and every day brought his master food from different sources, helped him to establish himself and get back to normal life again.

Pets have feelings similar to human beings which they express through their play, and gestures to their master. They are always protective towards their master and entertain them by playing with them in different possible ways which I personally experienced when I and my cat Squeaky used to play with the ball, run after one another, used to lick my face whenever I patted her. She used to entertain me and help me forget all my worries and relieve all the day's stress so that I can rejuvenate myself every day.

Pets help all the members of the family in different ways. For instance, My girlfriend had a dog in her house who was a labrador. He seemed very ferocious and was hyperactive. He used to guard their house every night and one day there was a burglar near their house and he barked so loudly that everyone woke up and called the cops and they caught the burglar. He even helped her mother in daily chores like helping in watering the plants by carrying buckets of water in his mouth, used to go out with her mother and frighten everyone else on street to protect her mother. Every day morning he used to wake my girlfriend up to take her to morning walk which helped her health to improve.

Since Pets are always faithful, protective towards their family, help every person in the family to stay happy by entertaining and alleviating stress, even help in daily chores and try to maintain the family harmony, therefore pets deserve to be treated like a family.