Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children

It is undeniable that life today is a huge difference from it used to be half a century ago. The advent of technology has brought numerous changes to human's lite. Some people believe that people in today's world enjoy a more manageable and relaxed life than when grandparents were kids. However, in my opinion, modern life is, in fact, harsher for most people than in the past.

First of all, busier life leads to more stress than ever. People at present lead a more hectic life as their daily schedule are usually filled with work and social activities from early morning until late evening. Overtime working has become common as everyone strives to survive the competition at the workplace and increase their promotion chance. Additionally, while technological advancement enhance communication in many favorable aspects, they made people more accessible. It seems that they are put under strains of work and left with little spare time for relaxation. An illustration is my sister who usually has to work until midnight to reach her KPI goal every month. Even during weekends and holidays, my sisters often receives a call from her office and has to deal with something while on her vacation. Sometimes, she even has to leave early for some emergency at work. Although she works hard, receives a handsome salary, and gets promoted earlier than her colleagues, she is not happy because she always has to cope with a great deal of pressure and has no time for leisure.

Furthermore, relationships among humans, which is essential to one's life, have deteriorated compared to half a century ago. Hard-pressed life makes meetings between friends and family members hard to arrange since everyone is busy with their own work and life. My sister and I, as always occupied with her job, can hardly join the family dinner as we used to like before. In addition, development of social networking sites has led people to place more emphasis on virtual life rather than real life. People communicate through their posts, likes and comments on sites like Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter rather through face-to-face conversation. For example, when I and my mom visited a coffee shop last week, we saw a group of friends sitting together but not talking to each other. Everyone was sticking to their smartphones, texting or surfing the Internet. My mom complained to me about that and said that in the past, people had rare chance to gather but every time they got together, everybody chatted and talked a lot to each other. All in all, relationships, which plays a pivotal part in human's life, appear to worsen as time passes.

In conclusion, to my view, life nowadays is more difficult than it was when our grandfathers and grandmothers were children. Life was more tiring and stressful and relationships among people are also not as good as they used to be. I believe that people should try to spend an amount of time on resting as well as being around family members and friend