Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

The length and the number of workdays has always been a topic of debate related to labor and employment. Some people believe that the scheme of the five workdays per week is already perfect while others insist that a plan, in which cuts the number to three and expand the work hours per day, will be more favorable. In my opinion, the latter will offer more merits.

First of all, working only for three days a week gives workers a wider range of vacation choice of time. This plan means that people will have four consecutive day weekend, which is considered a proper amount of time for a vacation. Saturday and Sunday are not enough for any travel. Therefore, employees will usually have to wait until holidays for any planned trip, creating traffic jam in airports and on high roads. For example, in Vietnam, at the time of holiday such as the New Year or the Independence day, the newspaper is usually flooded with pictures of cars queuing in a long line on the high way to places like Dalat or Sapa. People complain on the networking sites about long hour wait and exhaustion after vacation. If peopel can arrange any journey on any weekend, this phenomenon will not happen, which consequently will lessen traffic congestion in ways to beloved destinations on holidays. As a result, their vacation experience would also be facilitated.

This scheme is also beneficial to the work productivity. Some people state that eight hour work is already the limit and extension of that duration will only reduce the productivity. This might be valid to some extent. However, these opponents fail to realize that overtime working has now been prevalent in today's work. Most people actually work beyond the nine to five duration and there has been no complaint about their work productivity. In addition, workers will regain more energy after a long weekend, hence be better prepared for the new week. Additionally, long weekend and fewer workdays make going to work seem less tiring and stressful than it is currently. Last year, because of some coincidence, I accidently experienced a month of this kind plan. I feel more energetic after more days of relaxation and work more effectively. Since then, I have always wished this plan would be official in the future

In conclusion, I believe that three long workdays per week offer more advantages than five short workdays. To my view, three work day scheme should be applied so that both employers and employees can enjoy its advantages.