Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily

Relationship is always complex and therefore a matter of multiple heated debates, one of which relation to the number of friends. Some people think that people are happier if they can keep their friendship with a few friends only but for a long time. Others, on the other hand, of the opinion that the capability of opening the social circles is more important to one's mental life. To my view, being able to make new friends is more beneficial to one's happiness.

First of all, this skill is advantageous for one's adaptation to a new environment, which often causes a plethora of strains. When people move to a strange workplace, neighborhood or school, many feel anxious because they do not know any one there. However, if they can make new acquaintances easily, their stress will be substantially relieved. In the modern world, everything is more mobile than ever, people have to change their company, university or neighborhood quite often, even when they try to avoid it. Therefore, if they know how to socialize with everyone, they will rarely cope with any worry or pressure related to this problem and lead a more blissful life than those who are less amiable.

In addition, a large social network is more interesting and enjoyable. People learn a lot from their friend through their sharing of knowledge and experience. They might know about different aspects of life, some of which they are not even keen on, because their friends keep talking about. As a result, the more friends one have, the more he or she can learn. For example, my friend is genius in making friends and she has relationships with people coming from all walks of life. Every time I talk to her, I feel that she has insight in many things, ranging from travelling, cuisine, culture, history, music, sports to politics. She said that all of her knowledge came from conversations with friends working in those fields and it felt like experiencing new things everyday. I can understand how refreshing it is to listen to stories in various areas like that.

Some opponents of this idea claims that keeping a bond with small number of friends but for a long time is much better because people can only share their stories with close friends and are usually afraid of revealing them to new ones. Only sharing things can make people more joy in life. This can be valid to some extent. However, supporters of this view might have mistaken the concept old friends with close friends. It is not necessary to become close only after a long period of contact. Some friends can be best friends forever and share everything with each other even after a few weeks or months. Furthermore, to find best friends depends a lot on the destiny, whether one can find his or her soul mate. In fact, making new friends increases the chance people can find their true best friends

In conclusion, I think that that being able to make new friends contribute more to one pleasure in life. Many people are frightened when trying open their network. Nevertheless, I think they should overcome this fear to meet new people and achieve more joy in life.