Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the pastUse specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The advent of technology advancement has made the world drastically transform in such a short period of time. While the benefits that this change offered are undeniable, some people asserts that they are leading a less joyous and satisfactory than in the past. I agree with opinion because of two reasons.

First of all, consumption trend with higher quality products more and more frequently introduced on the market has reduced people's life satisfaction. Technological development has constantly provided with better and newer products at a faster pace than ever and those who fail to purchase a the latest one will feel depressed. In the twentieth century, the gap between different groundbreaking innovation was a couple of ten years. A decade before, it would take a few years from the release of first Iphone and Samsung Galaxy S and Note to the second generation. Nowadays, these flagship products are renewed annually. Other smartphones for low and middle-income people are updated even more frequently, about every a few months. Every time a new smart phone or smart watch is introduced, people are urged to purchase them and catch the new trend. Unfortunately, the majority cannot keep up with such fast rate of technological progress and afford those devices. This consumption trend prevents people from being contented with their possessions and leads to an insatiable demand for newest products.

Furthermore, people are not only exasperated by their material life but also by their spiritual life. Busy life makes it harder to arrange a meeting with friend and family members. For example, I have not met my group of high school friends for years even when we have agreed on a date a few times. There was always some one, who cancelled in the last day or minute because of some emergency. In addition, most young adults in today's world live independently from their families because of their careers. Obviously, they have to cope with a lot of stress, which is caused by not only work but also the loneliness. An illustration is my friend, who is working in another city faraway from our hometown and can only come back a few times annually. She has been complaining a lot about the strain she feels due to her solitude. It is obvious that people's mental health these days are not as healthy as those living decades ago.

In conclusion, people nowadays are less pleased with their lives than those in the past because they are suffering from materialism and a decline in relationships with others. I believe that both government and citizens should realize these problems and figure out some ways to address them so that human's life could be more fulfilling.