Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

Some people believe that in the past, our grandparents had a smooth and uncomplicated life and often refer to the past as “the good old days.” They lived clean lives and developed deep relationships. However, life has changed in so many ways in the last fifty years. I believe that our lives are easier and more comfortable today for three important reasons.

First, transportation is totally different from how it was in the past. Now, there are faster and more reliable cars. University students use cars to commute every day, making their commute efficient and convenient for them. For example, my older child commutes from our house to the university by car every day. In the past, my grandparents had to take buses to make the same trip, wasting more time getting from one place to another. Furthermore, we travel on well-maintained roads that make our commute pleasurable. No one can argue that changes in transportation haven’t made life better.

In addition to improvements in transportation, domestic responsibilities are more efficient because of new developments. Modern houses are equipped with many convenient appliances. Washing machines, dryers, dishwashers, and vacuum cleaners make housework fast and convenient. In contrast, during my childhood, I remember my grandparents spending a long time after dinner washing and drying the dishes by hand. It is clear that these devices have improved our lives.

Finally, with the advent of technology, life has improved for the better. Computers and the internet could be named as the most important developments in the last few years. These new technologies made life easier at different levels. First, they have made it simple to access information. For example, in the past, in order to do homework, children went to the library, or they had an encyclopedia to consult at home. In contrast, children these days use the internet if they need to search for any information to complete homework. These practices allow them not only to save time but also find the latest available information on specific topics without leaving their home.

In conclusion, life has changed for the better. Innovations in transportation, devices for the home, and access to data have offered us ease that our grandparents never enjoyed. I hope that we will not forget to cultivate relationships like our ancestors did with all the free time that these changes have brought.