Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

We predicted that life was going to get better after the marvelous inventions such as the light bulb by Thomas Alfred Edison and his team or the telephone by Alexander Graham Bell. But has that helped to ease all the aspects of our lives or has made human civilization more complicated? I shall now discuss the following points in support of my belief that life today is neither easy nor more comfortable than it was when our grandparents were children.

To begin with, the era of our grandparents saw education was just a necessity. But for today's generation, it is a race of cut-throat competition that every child must take part in, to achieve a secure position in society. For instance, in recent years, parents are making their six-year-old children learn to code, children who hardly have any idea of solving real life problems. Instead, these children should have been allowed to go to the playground, indulge in physical activities, and enjoy their ultimate childhood as our grandparents did.

Secondly, our grandparents were blessed enough not to have faced humongous difficulties in finding suitable job opportunities. Additionally, they did not have to combat within a job market that is suffering from the recession. Let's take an example of our day to day world, where even highly qualified individuals are still unemployed. They are ready to compromise their capabilities and self-respect by taking job positions that could have been performed successfully by comparatively a much lesser qualified fellow as well.

Lastly, the increasing pollution in our atmosphere has made the natural air, water, and earth poisonous enough to cause varying types of disease, new and evolving ones too. It was not a critical issue during a time when our grandparents were children. This present scenario of elevated pollution is a threat to the life expectancies of the current generation. For example, the city of Delhi in India has become almost unlivable for its increasing rate of pollution. Families have no option but to leave their hometown, give up their inherited properties, and search for new settlement somewhere else.

Neither can we deny the fact that with the advancement of technology, a lot of our day to day activities have become quite effortless, nor can we deny they have made life as a whole, much complicated. A day in the world without the internet would put a halt to the entire economy, literally speaking. Yet its boon comes with critical costs such as loss of privacy, hacking, data loss, etc..