Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

"A friend in need is a friend indeed." I believe this definition stands quite well with the friends who prioritize us before anything else, like friends from our school or college life. The saying might not be very suitable when applied to the aquaintances we bond with during our, let's say, professional journey. Therefore, I agree that it is more important to keep our old friends than it is to make new friends. In what follows, this essay will explore a few points to help explain the reasons behind my stand.

To begin with, it is customary to mention here that considering the old friends are the ones we grow up or befriend during our early ages, they are more aware of our sense of justice. Hence, it can be asserted that they tend to be wiser in rendering advice to the concerned individual and be a better guide. For example, a study was undertaken by the Psychology department of the University of Calcutta, a couple of years back. Results showed that people who are acquainted with the individual since they were young, happens to rightfully portray the individual's characteristics than the people who meet the individual later in their lifetime.

Secondly, owing to the length of time old friends spend with an individual, they can see through all the nuances of the concerned. Therefore, in a world where everyone is ready to force their opinion on to each other, old friends relieve us from unnecessary judgements. Let me share my personal experience here. My best friend, whom I happen to connect with since my pre-school, did not dump her opinions all over me when I mentioned her about leaving my job to chase my dreams. She calming listened to my whining. Unlike the new friends who made me quite pessimistic with their negative thoughts on my risky venture.

Last but not least, while it comes to sharing our deepest thoughts and secrets, we always end up trusting our old buddies to the newer ones. Recent friends are hard to be fathomed when it comes to their attitude to keeping secrets. For instance, who knows, they might exploit our ideas for an office promotion. My friend had pitched an idea for the official seminar and discussed with her roommate who works in the same place, hoping for a few tips, ended up stealing her concept.

To put it in a nutshell, life happens to take us to new places, land us in new job opportunities, makes us plan new adventures and many more, and that is everywhere we connect with people and bond over friendship. Yet the ones we meet early, are the ones with whom we share our roller-coaster journey of life and can be relied upon with every bone in our body. And this is why I must say, nothing can stand in comparison to the relationship we have with our old friends.