Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when
our grandparents were children.
The argument above asserts that life, in general, is more convenient and less
challenging for people today than it was when our grandparents were children. A simple
recognition of the argument lends our discussion to the questions of how we define a
comfortable life and what criteria we take into account to describe our lives as peaceful,
harmonious, and most of all, comfortable. Although these are broadly based questions
that cannot be summed up in paragraph or so, we need look no further than our present
state of affairs around us to partially address the argument posed above. That having
been mentioned, I adhere to this belief that our life today is more comfortable than those
of our grandparents for the reasons which will be illustrated at length in the following
paragraphs.
First and foremost, the crux of the matter lies in the fact that breakthroughs in
technology, particularly in the 21st century, have rendered most of our daily tasks and
routines effortlessly simple. In simple terms, Tasks and jobs, which used to seem very
cumbersome and even impossible in the past, are no longer a challenge to people living
in the modern era. The best examples that fit this argument are the impacts of computer
and the internet, which are the mouthpieces of technology, on our life. At the click of a
button, you access a seamless network with a boundless number of possibilities and
conveniences in your employ, be it from performing mundane routines such as writing
an email, surfing the net, chatting with friends to performing heavy-duty tasks and
projects like doing graphic design, calculating large-scale financial projects, to name a
few . These seemingly simple everyday tasks would not otherwise be made possible, if
it was not for the juggernaut of industrialization and computerization in our era.
Therefore, the advent of Information Technology has drastically revolutionized life in the
21st century and we are fortunate enough to take advantage of the things that could not
have been imagined when our grandparents were children.
Aside from the all-pervasive impacts of technology on our lives in the 21st century, we
cannot afford to understate the significant progress which has been made in different
fields of science, most notably, medical science which, in turn, has helped us fight and
cure most diseases that were once thought incurable or discover remedies for most of
the long-standing fatal maladies. We should not lose our sight on the fact that
breakthroughs in medicine have resulted in great many positive contributions and
noticeable improvements in matters such as life expectancy, infant mortality, and
malnutrition. Also, the overall universal healthcare and living standards have
immeasurably been improved thanks to groundbreaking discoveries and inventions in
various fields of science and disciplines in our time. Barely did previous generations
have access to these facilities and amenities that we take for granted in our life today.
Hence, it would be unfair to discount the importance of medical breakthroughs as
effective tools by means of which we live a comfortable life as compared with the time
when our grandparents were children.
Having considered all the aforementioned reasons discussed above, I aver that life
today, with the aid of quantum leaps in technology and medicine, poses less challenges
and hardships to the people than it did to people in the previous generations or
decades. As a matter of fact, sweeping advances in the various fields of Information
Technology and medical science have transformed and streamlined our life
tremendously. Thus, it behooves us to take advantage of all the benefits that modern life
has to offer and enjoy our modern life to the fullest.