Loyalty is the most important quality in choosing a friend.

Different people have different opinions about most important characteristics of a friend. Some believe its intelligence and some believe that its humour. In my opinion, a good friend must be loyal and I will explain my choice in the following essay.

Firstly, any kind of relationship is based on trust and is believed to be the foundation. Once trust is lost, it becomes very difficult to believe in each other. Also, if we lie to our friend, there are very high chances that one leads to the other and before we even realise we are in a web of lies. For instance, one of my friend Amy invited her another friend Bill to attend her party. Instead of him telling her directly that he was not interested, he made up a story that he was sick. She believed and continued with her party. Meanwhile, Bill attended another party of his friend. Next day Amy went to her office and met someone who saw Bill at the other party and asked Amy why she wasn't at that party. This made her feel worse because she heard it from a third person that Bill was lying. Also, she was never the same with him again. This example of mine illustrates that truth will come out either now or later. But if it was heard from someone else, it might hurt the person and their relationship. Hence, telling the truth to friends is always better.

Secondly, a friend must be a person on whom we can rely on. If we know that our friend lies, it is very difficult to depend on them. For instance, if I am ever in a dire need of help, I would call the most reliable person because I know that he will surely help me right away. This is the behaviour of any person because we can not trust the person who lies. What if they say they can help us but turns out they bail on us? Thus, in my opinion, a person without loyalty can never be trusted.

Although many might argue that being supportive, cooperative and humorous are the most important qualities of a friend, if a person with all these qualities is not reliable, I would never be friends with him. This is because I believe that my friends give me their honest opinion and are trustworthy.

In conclusion, I believe that loyalty is the most important characteristic in any friend because we can trust them in the time of need and be sure that they will never hurt us.