Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The issue is on whether corporations bear responsibility on the well being of the society and environment they survive in. I strongly believe that the corporations have a responsibility of the social well being on society.

Firstly, corporations depend on multiple factors like labor, raw materials and many others to succeed. These are generally obtained from the society the organization is established. For example, raw materials of a coffee company mainly include coffee beans. The coffee company may indulge in either trades with the other states with abundant coffee supply or start a farm in the same area. Either way the organization is indirectly or directly helping the society by creating more number of employments and increasing the trades thus impacting the economy.

Secondly, involving corporate social responsibility(CSR) is a kind of win-win policy because, along with improving the societal conditions, a positive image will be built for the organization. Positive Brand image plays a crucial role for the investors and is more likely to make a deal with companies involved in CSR. A recent poll also suggests that employees are more likely to feel connected after taking part in such events because every person wants to be a part of something bigger and corporations are providing them with an opportunity to full fill this feeling. It is also shown that employees prefer to join such companies and the current employees ten to stay longer. Also, another advantage of CSR is tax benefits. The companies which take part in CSR gets tax rebate as the corporations are performing the tasks that are to be performed by the government using the tax money.

Lastly, recent studies show that people are more likely to buy products of a company that involved in CSR and also recommend the company's products to others too as customers feel positively connected and satisfied on being helpful to the needed. For example, "Classmate" notebooks started a drive where 1 rupee will be donated to a rural area for the education of children on purchase of every book. After the start of this drive, the company saw a huge increase in its sales implying that people switched to "Classmate".

To conclude, I believe that corporations involving in social responsibility is a win-win policy as it provides advantages to both society and the organization in its financial matters.