Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Cars are widely used in the current period for transportation. In my opinion, the number of cars will not reduce in the next twenty years but they will increase especially because they are not only economical but also convenient.

First of all, cars are one of the most convenient modes of transportation as they are owned by individuals and they can be used anytime and travel to anyplace they need. For example, after my graduation, I joined a software company which was located in a different state. I started my new job and was in search of an economical place to live as I was tight on budget. I could only get one which is five miles away from my office as all the rest were out of my budget range. I tried using public transport every day but that was very inconvenient because the buses and trains do not stop near my home. I had to travel another half a mile from the bus stop to reach my home. Also, the timings were not rigid. Sometimes the buses would come early and sometimes late. I soon manged to buy a car for myself and then I was able to travel at my own convenience. In addition to it, a car also shows the social status of a person. For instance, a person who owns a car is considered wealthy in my country as many people can not afford to own one. So people generally buy bigger and fancier cars to show off their financial status. Thus people will prefer to buy cars.

Also, one might argue that with the limited availability of fossil fuels and the pollution being caused by cars, they might soon be reduced in usage. But I think with the advent of technology, the latest cars use electricity which can be produced using many renewable energy resources like sunlight and water. This way, soon the cars will not only become cheaper but also will reduce the burden of paying a lot of money on fuels like petrol and diesel. Once they become economical, common people will also be able to buy them. Using electric cars will also reduce the amount of pollution that is currently being caused. the amount of carbon dioxide that will be emitted will reduce and it will become environment-friendly.

In conclusion, I believe that considering the convenience provided by cars as opposed to public transport and also the economical prices will motivate the common men to buy cars.