The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue is about the best way for preparing the young people for leadership is by instilling a sense of cooperation and not competition. Cooperation is very important for any organization or a country to proceed further and healthy competition is as important as cooperation. But while teaching young people, one must make sure that the difference between healthy competition and over competition is understood.

Firstly, Cooperation will provide a win-win scenario where both the parties involved have advantages. Any organization can not develop without cooperation either internally or externally. For example, in case of developing a mobile phone multiple people from various backgrounds like a software engineer, an electrical engineer, a designer must cooperate, only then the output will be successful. If people do not prefer to cooperate and let's say, only a software engineer tries to develop the mobile phone without any help from other, probably the software inside the phone might be 100% smooth but what about the perfect microchips to use? What about the external design of the mobile? What about the durability of the materials being used? There is a little chance in making the product as perfect as it would be if all these cooperate and work together. If such important sense is not instilled in young people, succeeding in their careers or life will be difficult.

However, healthy competition is equally important. Without competition, it is natural to human to become complacent and might not try to get the best out of themselves. For example, Google search engine's highly accurate and efficient responses motivated another tech giant Microsoft to enhance their search engine "Bing" and now Bing gives almost as accurate results as that of Google. If Microsoft was not competitive maybe it might not be worried in getting better results as it already has huge market to compensate.

On the other hand, being over competitive is detrimental to the organization or a government. If one gets over-competitive, they might fall into the sense of becoming number 1 in any situation. This might result in taking up unethical paths. For example, in a television series "Silicon Valley" the CEO of a company is over competitive and can not handle if someone else does better than him. This attitude made him stoop to a level of stealing the protagonist's start-up company idea. The CEO soon undergoes legal actions and faces a huge downfall. Thus it is very important to make sure that young people do not become over competitive while maintaining a healthy competition.

To conclude, I strongly believe that instilling cooperation among young children is very important. Also, a heathly competition is important too. But letting them become over competitive might be detrimental.