Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue claims that technology has complicated our lives more than it was supposed to simplify. I agree that there are some complications which were newly introduced by the advancement of technology, but I believe that it simplified our lives at a much higher rate.

Firstly, if we compare the lifestyle of the current generation with the previous generation, we can observe significant advancements in technology. For instance, if we consider the development in telecommunication, in the earlier days, for a person to communicate with someone outside the country, there is only one option and that is writing letters. Which then moved to telephones where the people are charged with a great amount for every minute of an international call. Whereas, in the current generation, one can communicate directly and can also video chat with the help of the internet at free of charge. Not only video chat but the recent hologram technology of Microsoft can also show a virtual 3-dimensional image of a person one wants to communicate with, and all this using just a few button clicks! Although a complication that the technology introduced here can be, asking a layman to use hi-fi technology. For example, all these "button clicks" which are to be done to make a call or a video chat might seem too complicated for someone with little to no knowledge of a mobile phone. But if one learns how to use it, it all seems very simple and obvious. This one small instance shows how technology has changed the world over time and simplified our lives which were once thought to be conundrums. Another great example is how the Internet has simplified our lives by providing great information about anything.

Also, comparing the impact of technology in engineering, medical and environmental sciences, one can easily identify how peoples lives are changed over time. Smallpox, Polio and many other diseases impacted hundreds of thousands of people all over the world. But with the advanced technology in medical sciences, they are now almost completely eradicated.

However, there are a few cases where this improvement in technology also created a few issues. For example, before the invention of cars and motorcycles, there was no huge issue of depleting natural resources. But now, every country is aware of the disaster that might occur if we do not reduce the usage of these natural resources. But again, with the help of technology, the world is moving towards electric vehicles thus reducing the problem of exploiting the earth.

To conclude, I strongly believe that technology has made the human's life much simpler. Although there are some problems which are newly created with the advancement of technology, these are again being solved with more advanced technology.