Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The issue provides two possible views of what makes a leader successful. I believe that a healthy competition is very important for any organization to move forward and at the same time cooperation is also important. competition helps one to understand what could be done better whereas cooperation helps to progress basing on each others success.

Firstly, a healthy competition motivates anyone to get the best out of oneself. without any competition, it is a natural human tendency to feel complacent. For example, the major two tech giants Microsoft and Google, would not have been what they are now without the great neck to neck competition between the two. google search engine is famous for its ability to provide accurate results within a fraction of seconds. this kind of accuracy and efficiency helped Microsoft to improve their search engine "Bing" which now provides comparable accuracy and efficiency. Microsoft's browser "Internet Explorer" motivated google to create one of its own and make google search engine default. thus we can see that a healthy competition is very important.

However, if being highly competitive can be harmful to both the organization and its employees or a government and its people. For example, in the television series "Silicon Valley" a CEO of a company who is portrayed as very competitive, does all the deeds to buy the protagonist's start-up which comes up with an innovative streaming system. The CEO even tries to steal the idea from the startup. Nevertheless, the CEO soon faces a huge downfall. this shows that being over competitive does not lead to success.

cooperation is another important feature a leader must possess. without cooperation between the organizations or governments, it is very difficult to proceed further. For example, Microsoft's new motto by Satya Nadella "Empower every organization on the planet" which was followed religiously by the whole organization skyrocketed its performance. this is mainly because if the organizations like Dell, HP, Lenovo- the partners of Microsoft face a downfall, so will Microsoft. thus striving not only for its own success but also for other's success is important.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that a mixture of healthy competition and cooperation will lead to the success of an organization.