"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument concludes that, only by hiring people who need less than 6 hours of sleep a business can succeed. This was based on the facts shown by a study of 300 Male and Female Mentian advertising executives. Though this might seem plausible at a first glance, the argument has made some unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the arguer mentioned that the study was done on 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives. To conclude that if a business hires people who need more than 6 hours of sleep, one should perform the study on larger set executives and not only from Mentian but from other successful and failed business to have an even distribution of the data. Also, the argument doesn't mention any information regarding the ratio of male and female included in the study. For all we know, there could be 290 males and 10 females which would skew the data and the results might not be reliable. Thus the arguer needs to perform more detailed analysis on the study on which the entire argument is solely based upon.

Secondly, even if we assume that the data the study used represents all the executives and is meeting the required conditions that a dataset must have for performing a research, it assumes that success only depends upon the number of hours an employee sleeps. There could be many other factors that influence ones success. For understanding this further, the arguer needs to first understand how the study was performed, what were the questions asked and does that include any other factors or habits (example : reading a lot of great books) these employees differed in. Without this information one cannot assume that the number of sleep hours directly influences the success of their firms.

Lastly, for instance, let us assume that the number of hours of sleep at night has an impact on the success of their firms. There could be a possibility that even in their awake time, they might be involved in activities which are completely irrelevent to the success of their firm. For example, let us consider two people who requires 6 hours of sleep. First person might spend the rest of the day time in improving themselves, learning new tactics and reading books which provides insights on how to succeed. Second person might spend the rest of the day just by watching a television series which has nothing to do with the firm. This clearly shows us that the assumption that even if two different people require the same sleep hours may fail or succeed.

To recapitulate, for the arguer to conclude that only by hiring executives who need less than 6 hours of sleep will help the firm succeed is based on various assumptions which needs further evidence to be true.