Many birds engage in anting, a behaviour in which a bird approaches a colony of ants (small insects), picks up ants with its beak, and rubs the ants on its feathers. Since ants instinctively defend themselves by spraying formic acid, the bird ends up with formic acid on its feathers and skin. There are several theories about the possible benefit that birds get from anting. Relief of Skin Irritation during Feather Change Anting behaviour typically takes place during the summer. This fact leads some scientists to believe that the function of anting is to relieve skin irritation that birds feel, especially during summer months. In summer, birds lose old feathers and grow new ones. The formic acid, which the birds apply to their feathers and skin through anting, may act as a kind of skin lotion, helping to soothe the skin irritation caused by feather loss and replacement. Protection against Parasites Another theory is that the formic acid helps the birds protect themselves from external parasites, such as mites and ticks, that can infest their feathers or skin. In anting so the theory goes a bird is essentially using the formic acid that it spreads over its feathers and skin as a chemical defence against parasites. Food Preparation A third theory is release of formic acid makes it possible for the birds to feed on the ants. Formic acid tastes bitter; if the birds provoke ants into releasing the formic acid, the bitter taste is removed from the ants’ bodies and the birds can feed on the ants without tasting the bitterness. So, according to this theory, anting is just a way for birds to make sure the ants taste good.

The reading excerpt states that there are several theories about the possible benefit that bird get from anting, the author provides three reasons for support. However, the lecture's audio states that there are a lot of problems with the author theories and he refutes each of them by stating the cause behind these advantages is not obvious.

First, the article claims that the formic acid from the ants may act a skin lotion, helping to sooth the skin irritation caused by feather loss and replacement during summer season, In contrast, the professor opposes this point by saying that it seems that xxdis relation between the feather's change and the action of the ant at summer. However, it may be because the ants are more active in that season, thus, they can be easy to find, as a result, there will be more ants than in another season. So, renewing the feather is only a coincidence. Consequently, this outlook contradicts what the professor explained.

Second, the passage posits that the formic acid helps birds protect themselves from external parasites. In contrary, the speaker argues this idea by stating that if there is a relation between the formic acid and the parasites, thus, the bird who is exposed to this acid must have fewer parasites than those who do not exhibit to the acid. However, there is no difference. Thus, this outlook is definitely wrong.

Third, the excerpt mentions that anting is just a way for birds to make the ants taste good by rubbing this test on their feathers and prepare them to eat earlier. On the other hand, the lecturer avers that these birds also rub many other materials such as cigarettes but they will not digest them later. So, the rubbing process not related to birds' eating.