Many people believe that strong tradition helps to civilise a nation
and that governments should therefore subsidise musicians, theatre
companies, actors and artists.
Explain whether you agree or disagree with this statement and what
you think governments should do to promote the traditional cultural
heritage of a country.
Many countries’ cultures are preserved by the strong tradition inherent in the music, art
and theatre of that country. It has been argued that the government should pay to
promote the uniqueness of a country’s culture by subsidising the artists, musicians and
actors which keep culture alive. I agree that a government should fund its citizens’
cultural pursuits, since part of a government’s responsibility includes the preservation of
its people’s own unique cultural traditions.
If a government wants to preserve and maintain the art and music which is historically
traditional to its country, then it must take steps to insure that those traditions are valued
and fostered. Firstly, a government can help maintain the cultural traditions of a country
by using tax money to build theatres, music and concert halls, galleries and museums. By
providing venues for artists, musicians and actors to practice, perform and exhibit their
arts, the government is helping people come together to participate in traditional creative
activities.
Furthermore, governments could provide grants, scholarships and education to artists
and musicians who are prepared to make special contributions to the preservation of a
country’s traditional music and art. By giving students of art and music incentives to
maintain cultural traditions, governments can promote the longevity of its people’s
traditions. For example, if a student who was interested in fine arts was offered a full
scholarship to explore and paint in tradition styles, that student would be more inclined
to follow that option than if no scholarship was offered.
In conclusion, I believe that governments should provide venues and offer grants and
subsidies to artists and musicians of traditional music and art, to maintain the strong
tradition of the country.