In many places, students aged 12-18 are typically taught different subjects by different teachers while younger students are usually taught by only one teacher all day long. However, it would also benefit younger students to be taught by several different teachers every day.

It is undeniable that teachers play a vital role in children’s academic and intellectual development. After all, young students rely on their teachers to gain knowledge for success and pursue their interests. Some might argue that one teacher should suffice in order for them to learn all core subjects. However, I believe that they can benefit from having several different teachers every day for two reasons.

To begin with, it is important that a teacher has the expertise and experience needed in order to give his students a high quality education. Most primary school teachers teach every core subject to their students but may only be highly skilled in one or two of those. From my personal experience, I learned that I was lacking in math and science skills in the fourth grade because I was not properly prepared by my third grade teacher who taught every single subject all by herself. Because of this, I fell behind and was not able to build a good foundation in those subjects in order to do well in other grade levels. This clearly depicts that even young learners need a quality education offered by many specialized educators in school rather than learning from one teacher with general knowledge.

Another major consideration is that young students should be able to have the chance to be taught by multiple teachers to build their interests and get a balanced and multifaceted education needed to pursue them. Primary school teachers all have their own interests and biases about certain subjects. For example, if a student is into art and wants to get feedback from his teacher, his teacher may ignore his request and try to sway him towards a different subject preferred by the teacher. This would not happen if the student had a separate teacher for art. This indicates that having different teachers will likely give students the motivation to pursue diverse interests and develop as individuals.

Lastly, one should think about the physical and mental limitations of an individual teacher and the number of students a teacher has to accommodate. Teaching can be extremely demanding with long hours and a heavy workload. For instance, team teaching, especially for subjects like science and math, can be advantageous to both teachers and students. Teachers don't always have to singularly meet the needs of all of their students, and from student’s perspective the good thing about having several teachers is that even if one of them is not very good, the student only has him or her for part of the day. In addition, shuffling from class to class breaks up the monotony. This points to the fact that children would learn better from multiple teachers.

In summary, there are many reasons why young learners should be taught by a variety of teachers in school. This will allow students to have access to a more qualified, diverse, and robust education, giving students the chance to develop and pursue their own interests with the specialized support they deserve.