In many places, students must arrive very early in the morning to attend school. Some people believe that starting the school day early is the best approach to support learning, but others believe that starting the school day at a later time in the morning would be better for students. Which view do you agree with and why?

By and large, it has turned into a convention for most schools around the world to start their classes early in the morning, since many people believe that starting school earlier in the day is more beneficial for students. However, some people hold contradictory opinions about school routines and argue that schools should start their programs from later in the morning. I prefer the latter suggestion. Two reasons are elaborately discussed in the following to substantiate my perspective.

Firstly, my conviction is that starting the school day at a later time in the morning helps students to attend classes with more energy. As a widely acknowledged fact, it is clear that students should have enough sleep during the nights before their school days. A sound sleep cheers children up and enables them to have better concentration during classes and they will not get disturbed easily. If they do not have enough sleep, they won’t be capable of having maximum efficiency during class sessions. As a result, by attending classes later in the morning, they compensate for sleep deficiency, which in turn provides them with a sharper mind that is ready to absorb all the materials that teacher covers during the class. In contrast, starting classes too early discourages students from being mentally present in the class. So, starting early is a burden for those students who suffer from sleep problems and are sleep deprived. Moreover, as we know people have different sleep routines and not everyone is an early-bird. By starting classes later, not only can everyone participate in the class with more energy, but also it helps night-owl people to get out of bed easier in the morning.

Secondly, starting school later in the morning can reduce a noticeable amount of traffic and noise in the morning. In other words, most people start their job early in the morning, or employees have to be at the office in the early hours. Consequently, a numerous number of people have to travel from their home to their workplaces and it results in hectic mornings in which we can observe huge crowds in the occupying subway stations or highways. As a result, starting classes later can be a remedy to these problems, since in this way many school buses will be reduced from the traffic in rush hours. Likewise, many parents use their cars to drive their children to school. So, fewer cars hitting the road will decrease noise and the jam-up traffic we usually observe in the early mornings. This method has been used occasionally by many large cities. For example, in our town, on days when the air quality is in a poor condition, the municipality asks schools to start their classes at a later time in the morning. As a result, they can manage air pollution in this way by reducing the number of cars that are being used in the morning and making traffic more smooth and steady during the day.

According to the reasons mentioned above, it can be concluded that starting classes early in the morning has more cons than pros and it may sound like a better idea to take advantage of starting classes later in the morning. By doing that, students attend classes with more energy and also the city will experience less traffic and pollution.