Many schools require young children (aged 5-11) to work together in a small group instead of working alone during most of their learning process.

Nowadays, schools attach greater importance to adopting methods to improve education quality. The controversy has surrounded one issue that whether young children should be encouraged to work alone or in group. Some people are of the point that learning alone can provide a quiet environment and well-disciplined children. However, in my opinion, working together and having more discussions are more advantageous due to the following reasons。

One of the most interesting aspect of the current discussion which demands a keen contemplation is that studying in groups and discussing together is beneficial for juveniles’ study. Within the discussion, children are able to discuss the difficult points which they have a hard time digesting with the students who understand. By solving other students’ questions, it is an excellent opportunity for them to review the knowledge they learnt. In this case, all the children, including the one who ask questions and the one who answer questions, gain benefits from this process. Moreover, during studying, young teenagers are more susceptible to the distractions around them, for example, cartoons, TV and toys, resulting in a low efficiency. If they have the chance to stay together, motivation and encouragement from their peers go a long way to help them to concentrate. Therefore, studying together exerts positive influence in their study.

Another noteworthy aspect of the ongoing discussion which needs to be reflected is that working together enable children to expand their social network. Working together provides children with chances to communicate with each other and get to know each other better, which can be seen as the prerequisite of a friendship. Studying and discussion together in school can be extended to playing and having fun together in life, equipped students with the ability to expand their social networks. In contrast, if a child always stays alone facing all the difficulties himself, he won’t have the chance communicate with his classmates. Moreover, the frustration brought by stucking in knowledge will wear away his interests in studying. Thus, no social network and frustration will make him more and more eccentric. Thus, group discussion with peers is beneficial for them to build social network.

Admittedly, studying alone will result in a quite studying environment, so children are easily to be controlled. However, this fight-alone study method is not beneficial for students’ study or their social life, at least not good for all the children.

From what have been discussed, I draw a conclusion that school should advocate more study groups due to the advantages it brings to student’s study efficiency and their social network.