Many students choose to attend schools or universities outside their home countries Why do some students study abroad Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer

I am a university student, and there are some students around me who are going to study abroad. In fact, I am going to enroll in a foreign university myself. There are many advantages that lead to their staying overseas, but I will explain two of them.

Firstly, I believe that students can expose themselves to different values and lifestyles from themselves. This commitment to another culture would be of great importance for those who have no experience in spending their lives overseas. For example, the first time I went to another country than my native one, when I was in a high school, I was astonished that people spend hours having dinner. In my country, many people do not take spend so much time in eating because they are busy working or studying. However, people there enjoyed having a chat with their friends and eating together, spending more than 2 hours. I do not think this is usual in my state. This kind of exposure to another way of living would cultivate people's minds, creating a meaningful life for long.

Another reason is that students can see their own countries in a subjective way. If they remain in their native countries for many years, they would be patriotic without thinking much about the relationships with other countries and become aggressive about trivial things. However, when they put themselves in a situation where they turn minorities, they will come to realize that there are other side of people than them. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I participated in the summer program of a foreign university, I was asked by my roommates about how I interpret international issues, the pros and cons of my own country, and the like. I had not noticed how I was ignorant about my own country. This experience brought me home to the importance of leaning my own country, its characteristics, and its culture as well as those of foreign countries.

Finally, we might get an access to academic studies of a higher standard. In my country, studying at colleges is an uncommon decision, which results in a relatively fewer population in academic fields, causing poor conditions in research. To be more specific, I am curious about molecular biology, but there are a handful of universities in this country. This is why I want to study abroad and get proficient in this academic field, which could hopefully result in a development of this field in my country as well.

For these reasons above, students are eager to apply for foreign schools.