In modern days parents can learn more from their children than children can learn from their parents

Nowadays, with the rapid development of new technologies, some people reckon that children are more proficient in absorbing the most up-to-date information. Meanwhile, their parents cannot keep pace with the fast-paced modernization process. Thus, some people contend that parents can learn more from their children. However, as far as I’m concerned, children can learn as much as their parents can learn from them.

On the one hand, family education is, and will remain, essential for children’s upbringing, because parents not only own lots of valuable life experiences that can enlighten their children but also can educate children about attitudes and values, goods and evils, rights and wrongs, etc. Encouraged and companied by parents, children can benefit in a wider range. After all, these life and moral lessons cannot be easily learned by children on their own without parents’ guidance and instruction. Although children can have all the latest facts at their fingers, expanding knowledge through the Internet and new technologies, they are not mature enough to make good judgments. My personal experience is a prime example of this point. Back in primary school, I always watch videos on the Internet. At that time, I was unaware that some videos contained violence and dirty words. Although my parents were not familiar with these online websites, they pointed these issues out and helped me find more suitable videos to watch. Thus, children can learn from their parents.

On the other hand, we have to admit youngsters’ ability to learn new things is remarkable. Children can make full use of new knowledge that their parents may not know. In this case, parents can learn from their children. Children always have new ideas and can share news from a new perspective with their parents, helping parents generate creative ideas and even putting the ideas into practice during work. Take programming as an example. For many years, some parents rarely have opportunities to familiarize themselves with basic programming knowledge, and they don’t have enough time and energy to indulge in learning it. When they need to utilize programming in the workforce, their children whose compulsory subjects include programming can provide help. Children can help their parents to tackle even the simplest mistakes or problems with programming. And during this process, children may also provide unique suggestions for their parents’ work.

In a nutshell, both children and their parents can learn from each other from different perspectives. There is no need to hold a biased view toward this issue, underestimating the advantages of any part. Thus, I believe that combing the advantages of both parents and children can generate more excellent results, making the education and development of society become better.