Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of other parts in the world. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, museums and art galleries do a wide range of surveys in order to decide which type of work they should exhibit to meet the need of the general public. It is reported that people divide their perspectives into two different kinds. Some people say that museums and galleries should focus on the works that show history and culture of their own countries, while others suggest including works of other parts in the world. I lean on the latter opinion due to these rational reasons.

First of all, museums and galleries need to display works of other parts in the world to enlarge viewers’ horizons. Most of the people who come to museums have the purpose of enjoying art as well as beauty, which is not assembled through nations. Therefore, works should not be limited to be displayed just because they do not originate from the host country. Moreover, that citizens only care for the information, specifically art works, of their own country might prevent their knowledge about updating news. This situation is not different from learning science. It is obvious that students have to study scientific rules and laws which were proved by the foreign scientists; thereby, why should international artworks be different? To sum up, museums and galleries should display works of other countries to help widen their citizen knowledge beyond the boundaries.

Secondly, exhibiting works of other countries is also a means to consolidate patriotism along with culture enrichment. By showing citizens the masterpieces of other countries, galleries aid to propaganda people to raise their awareness of protecting their own artworks so that they can make their valuable works match played with the great powers. Furthermore, artworks, as mentioned, contain historical symbols and culture of a country. As a result, people, especially teenagers, have the chance of joining hands to enrich their country’s culture by absorbing the elite factors of other countries. Ho Chi Minh, the first president of my country, once claimed in the Declaration of Independence that citizens’ responsibility was not only inheriting and developing the traditions but also expanding them.

In conclusion, people should continuously widen their horizon of the world as well as make an attempt to raise their patriotism and culture expansion. By that, museums and galleries where works of countries from over the world are displayed will be used as tools to buttress citizens to reach the goals.