My Speaking context "TPO-1) Speaking Question #3,4,5,6

TPO-1) speaking Question #3

It has been stated that the university is planning to buy new sculpture. On this issue the student wrote a letter to university’s newspaper opposing this plan. He mentioned that as the university is in a poor financial condition buying such an expensive sculpture will not only impose high expenses on the university’s expenditures, but also it will occupy huge amount of green space in front of the campus center. On contrary, the lady found the plan a nice decision as she believes that the boy was misunderstood about the one who is going to pay for the price. The true fact is that; it has been donated rather than being purchased. Furthermore, she asserted that the problem with the area which he mentioned is nothing more than an excuse. In fact, as they usually play soccer at that part of campus, they just feel uncomfortable changing their position and playing soccer in other part of campus.

TPO-1) speaking Question #4

The article is about Groupthink literally/conceptually meaning the tendency of individual members of group to conform their opinion to the opinion of majority of the group members (group consensus) even though it may lead to/leave an unfavorable/unpleasant outcome. For further covering the concept the man told about his own experience when he was working at a computer company in a couple of years ago. He told that, at that time, based on what market research was showing, he and his co-worker came up with an idea that if the company had changed the appearance of its products and made them look more up to date it could have led to an increase in the number of sales. So they decided to put their idea forward in group . At first, more than half of the group enthusiastically welcomed the idea, but everything changed as one of the senior managers stood against the idea and said “the technologically advancement of products rather than their appearance has always been the company’s policy, changing look will just impose the cost which is unnecessary”. It didn’t take a long time that everyone changed their mind and sided with senior’s opinion because they didn’t want to leave bad impression on his mind and as a result of this decision they lost remarkable/ salient number of their regular customer. This how the man explained Groupthink.

TPO-1) speaking Question #5

Sounds like the lady is supposed to take bunch of the kids to the zoo tomorrow and to do so she decided to rent a van. But now that she called the rental agency she found out that they are having no vans available to rent for tomorrow (no rental vans available). In this regard she has 2 solutions to ease the problem. The first solution is not preferable since barrowing one car can’t ease her problem because the number of kids are too many to be fit in one car, instead, she should barrow two cars but on that condition she will have a problem of finding the one to drive the other car. The second solution is far better since by using public transportation, and by considering that there is a bus line going right past the zoo she can easily take kids to the zoo even though it might be hard to control them since they are so naughty. If I were in her shoes, I would personally go for second solution since the problem with second solution is not a big deal in comparison with the first one.

TPO-1) speaking Question #6

It has been stated that the experiment was conducted for better realizing the intellectual abilities of babies in doing basic mathematical calculations. In this experiment they put a five-month years old baby under study. first they show a doll to baby and then they hide it behind the screen/curtain. After a while they show the second doll to baby and hide it in the same place. As the baby was already shown two dolls, he knew that there should be 2 dolls behind the screen. In the following they secretly took away one of the dolls and as they were tracking the baby’s eye movement, they raised the screen. They noticed that the baby was staring at doll. The same behavior shown when the baby is astonished by sth. So they comprehended that the baby was astonished as he expects to see 2 dolls which in turn vindicates babies intellectual abilities in doing basic mathematical calculations.