One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.(Agree/Disagree - TPO24)

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world we live, parents are always contemplated with the concern that what are the best methods of training kids for future responsibilities. In this regard, there has been a controversial debate among parents around the effectiveness of part-time jobs and whether encouraging teenage children for taking a part-time career can prepare them for adulthood, or not. Personally speaking, I strongly agree with the idea that by spurring teenagers for taking a part-time job, parents can assure that their children will be more prepared for the future. Two reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are vindicated in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, stimulating youth for taking part-time careers contribute to their financial responsibility in the future. To be more specific, by sending teenagers for part-time jobs, parents teach their children that they must be able to gain money for their own expenditures and understand that parents cannot provide them with money all the times. In this vein, kids will reduce their undue expectations from their family and learn to be more independent about their monetary affairs. If kids equipped with this behavior when they are teenagers, they will restrain it for their future stages of life and become more independent adults. An example can drive this notion home. When I was a teenager, my father talked to one of his friends who had a restaurant and asked him for me to work in his restaurant after school. Although I was not used to hardships of working in a restaurant, after receiving my first payment, I felt delighted about my independence and working became more pleasant for me. This experience helped me to taste the sweetness of being responsible for my spendings, and its favorability has stayed with me until today, that I am entirely accountable for my expenditures. Had not my father pushed me to work in his friend's restaurant, I would not become a financially responsible adult today.

Moreover, social relationships are one of the essential requirements in adulthood, and kids will learn the ability to have effective communications if their parents let them participate in part-time jobs. To put it in a more vivid picture, when kids start working somewhere, they would expose to more people in their job environments. This exposure is beneficial for children's social relationships in the future since they learn people's behaviors in society and how they must interact with different persons in the context of social contracts. For instance, for a kid who works in a cafe, there is the opportunity to meet different people with a wide range of personalities and learn how they must interact with them politely. Hence, parents can consider a part-time job as valuable training for their kids, which helps them to become more confident and affable in communicating with others.

In conclusion, considering all the abovementioned reasons and examples into account, I am of the idea that part-time career can train teenage children for their adult life not only by making them more financially responsible and independent but also due to providing a favorable environment for kids to learn how they must behave in their social interactions.