Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

In management literature, the term leadership is defined as the ability of a person to guide a group of people effectively toward a mutual goal that is beneficial for them. This ability comes from some critical characteristics which can determine the power of the leader and his popularity among others. In this regard, there has always been a controversial debate among people around the issue of whether the required features that make a person a qualified leader can be learned or these characteristics are inherent and leaders receive them as natural gifts. Personally speaking, I strongly believe that leadership is an instructable ability, and all the people can become leaders if educated correctly. Two reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are vindicated in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, nowadays, many well-known business schools across the world are providing several courses and seminars to teach people how to become effective leaders. To be more specific, leadership and its required characteristics are comprehensively discussed in the management books and many prominent professors in this area, like Kotler or Keller, believe that this ability is gainable by people if they participate in appropriate classes. For example, one of the primary skills that a discreet leader must have is persuasion. When leaders are equipped with this powerful weapon, they can make their followers convinced in the times of implementing difficult decisions or in chaotic situations. In order to teach people to become convincing, educational institutions provide their students with psychological instructives about the human mind and show them some tricks and techniques to become compelling leaders in their future.

Moreover, the experience is one of the essential features for leadership, and people only could achieve that during years of hard work. Furthermore, one cannot claim that they have experience in their genes as a gift. Although there are prominent young businessmen in the contemporary era, like Mark Zuckerberg, that proved to have perfect leadership abilities, but even these young leaders have some well-experienced advisors around them to learn from and take guidance from them to lead their company and their employees in the correct way toward prosperity, and maximize their beneficiaries' profits. Therefore, the more experiences people gain in their life, the better they guide others under challenging situations, and the more influential leaders they become eventually.

In conclusion, considering all the abovementioned points and reasons into account, I firmly believe that leadership is a learnable ability not only because there are a variety of institutions that offer courses to turn their students into the future leaders, but also due to the fact that the more experienced people become, the more qualified leaders they turn to, and experience is not an inherent characteristic that people born with.