Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children(five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in today's modern and progressive world we live, education is considered as one of the most vital sectors in each country, and it has been proved that investigating in education can affect the country's evolution and put it in a right way toward development. In this line of thought, there has always been a controversial debate among politicians around the issue of whether it is more critical for a country to underwrite rudimentary schools or provide its financial supports mostly for universities in order to achieve development. Personally speaking, I strongly believe that governments should give more budget to universities. Two reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are vindicated in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, since successful universities can create an international reputation and attract ingenious students from all over the world, governments should support these institutions more. To be more specific, offering financial aids to universities can allow them to enhance their level of education by hiring prominent professors, providing better facilities for their students, and encourage universities to do more research. In this way, the university ranking will improve among other universities from other countries, and more fervid students will decide to pursue their education journey in that university. For example, the U.S has the most prominent universities in the world, and each year, they select the best students from all over the world to study in the United States. Many of these students perform remarkable researches during their study time, which has implications for the government. On the other hand, the U.S government can hire these students after their graduation and gain the competitive advantage of having the expert workforce in the international scene. Therefore not only the country can exploit these bright minds after their graduation and have more progress, but also the students' research during their study time can create value for the country.

Moreover, governments should invest more money in universities because they can help to solve the country's problems in a specific area. To put it in a more vivid picture, universities are a place that scientists in each major gather around and do research together. Therefore, the government can use their scientific potential and find practical solutions to overcome the obstacles in the way of its development. An example can drive this notion home correctly. Five years ago, the United States defined some economic sanctions against my country of birth, Iran. Since Iran could not sell its oil to United States allies anymore, politicians started cooperating with universities and exploiting economists' advice and views to find a solution. After six months of collaboration between the government and universities, they came up with a proposal that not only introduced new ways to sell Iran's oil in international markets but also proposed a plan to reduce Iran's economic dependency to fossil fuels up to 50% in five years. Hence, universities should be supported by governments appropriately due to their role in solving macro problems.

In conclusion, considering all the abovementioned points and reasons into account, I firmly believe that governments should allocate more budget to universities not only because they can provide the country with talented students and exploit their potential but also because universities can offer a remarkable contribution in solving problems in the country level.