Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people posit that leadership comes naturally, that means it is inherent. Yet, some people argue that it needs to be learned, that it requires more than inborn abilities. Personally, I believe that leadership is something that we all need to learn as to be qualified as a great leader. In the following passages, I will give out examples to illustrate my points.

First of all, leadership is something we start to practice in a really young age. We are not born to be leaders. This could be observed in a group of kindergarden pupils. I believe that most of us have this experience of getting in the line when we are outside the classroom and ready to be off to somewhere else. Now, most teachers would assign the work of "help others get in the right order" to one of the kids. I had this experience when I was in the kindergarden. At that time, I need to remember the orders of my classmates to be able to insert them to the right place. Also, I needed to communicate with my classmates to see whether I got it right. Now thinking back, I was learning how to organize each person from a leader's view. Plus, the communication skill was really important even for a six-year-old kid, in order to stay away from fighting. Thus, it is obvious that leadership is usually learned when we are little.

Secondly, imitating behaviors of our parents is also a sign of learned leadership. In most of the families, there are plenty of house chores to do in one day. Seeing how parents cooperate with each other and how children are assigned with different tasks can be influential to one's way toward leadership. For example, my mom used to ask me to do more house chores than my brother since I was more careful. If I am to adopt this principle in real-life, I would also suggest someone careful to handle more details. Thus, how family members work with each other would also help develop one's leadership skills.

Some would still suggest that leadership comes naturally, however, I disapprove this point of view since there are simply too many to learn to be an excellent leader. It is possible that one can be born with the personality or with the great vibe to be a leader, yet there's still more to polish, such as communication skills, organizing skills, etc.

In conclusion, I still preferred the belief that we all "learn" to be a leader. Since we all learn it probably since our childhood, and also we would learn it from our family members. Although one could have the inherent characteristics of a leader, there are sill a lot to excel at to be able to be qualified as a great one. Thus, leadership for me, is something that takes time and needs to be learned.