Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no exaggeration to say that friends is one of the most precious asset of one's life. As the debate over the ability to maintain longer friendship or to make friends easily continues, I cannot deny the values of both. However, as far as I am concern, I would consider it more important to have the ability of making new friends easily. The reasons are as follows.

Firstly, as I grow older, I come to realize how the ability to make friends easily can affect a person in a social setting. Take my personal experience for example. I've always been a shy person, which always discourages me on the first day of school. I remember being reluctant to introduce myself in front of the class and being a total outsider for a couple of days. If I could be more open-minded and have polished my skills in making friends, it probably will get me a lot of sincere friends during the time at school. Thus, it reveal the fact that if one has a hard time reaching out to people, one may be at a disadvantageous situation as people always needs to socialize in different stages.

Next, the ones with the ability to make friends easily are more possible to explore different possibilities in life. Compared to those one who like to maintain in their small social group, getting in touch with new people may be the track for one to connect to the world differently. My dad used to say that he have friends all over the world since he loved to meet new people in his 20s. By that, he has been to many countries and know a lot of cultures since then. Whenever hearing his stories of traveling, I always admires and hope that I could be like him. From this instance, the benefits of making new friends is clearly seen.

Furthermore, I believe that people inevitably will have different friends in each stage of life. People rarely have friends that can accompany each other for a long time. Thus, it appeals more important to have the ability to make new friends. In this way, we may all get accompany whenever we are.

In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of making new friends outweigh the one of maintaining friendships over a long period. It is because one can hardly be by one's side, and the advantages of making new friends are enormous. Thus, I oppose the statement stated.