Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is common for the modern family that parents don't usually have a lot of time with their children. While some people may hold the idea that busy parents, when they are available, should play games and just having fun with the children. Some, on the other hand, would want to spend that time on children's homework. As I see it, I would prefer the later one since its benefits outweigh the disadvantages. I will list my reasoning as follow.

First of all, it is parents' responsibility to take care of children's schoolworks. Each day, children spend approximately eight hours in the school, yet other time they are at home. Thus, it is obvious that if parents don't deal with children's assignment, they may fail to accomplish what the teachers ask them to do. Take my little brother as an example. Since he is a slower learner, he always needs someone to accompany him to finish his homework. While my parents are at work, I always accompany him till he has it done. There are many times that the homeroom teacher comments on his hard work and thanks us for helping him out. Thus, I believe this mean can also relieve teacher's stress when dealing with students' work.

Next, I believe that children can obtain the motivation to study if parents are around helping them. As we can imagine, if a child loses his parent's love and care, he would become very insecure. The same applies to the situation when children don't get enough caring and attention from their parents. The children may not want to put their efforts into school works which helps nothing in their learning. From my personal experience, I was really lucky to have my parents took care of and checked my homework everyday when I was in elementary school. During that time, I got the feeling that I needed to work harder so my parents would appraise my improvement. So, from my point of view, the motivation for children to study and to advance can be derived from their parents if they are around.

Moreover, the approach of parents spending time with their children to play game is not really helping their children. Although this may help children relax, it turns out wasting time and energy. As children still need to finish their schoolwork, it is better to teach them "first thing first". Plus the fact that children have already get enough exercise at school, more exercise would probably cause injury.

Personally, I feel that parents should spend time to be with their children, especially when they are doing their homework. In one hand, this is parents' responsibility to assure children's learning situation; in another, children will thus gain the attention and care they need to motivate themselves. Also, as playing games or sports is relatively unnecessary, I would choose to spend time doing homework with the child.