Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The statement that the rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict is commonly discussed. While some people hold that opinion, I consider it bearable so as to remain a harmonious society. In the following passages, I will clearly illustrate my reasons.

Admittedly, there are more and more rules that is enacted to regulate especially young people. For example, people under certain age cannot ride or drive, as well as drink and smoke. Also, young people that has not reached a certain age cannot involved in sex industry and cannot enter places like web cafe. Although the rules and punishments are there to restrict youngster, I believe it is out the the reasons to protect and educate them.

As regard to protecting the youngster, the notable law is the legal age to smoke and drink. Back in the early days, when there are no such rules, the campus sometimes are involved with gangsters due to cigarette selling, sometimes even drug selling. When there is no rules to confine the youngsters and teenagers, there is high chances that they will thus hurt their bodies. This kind of "trend" among students are especially imposed due to the peer-pressure. In the contrary, for society nowadays, there is no such serious concern about students smoking and drinking on the campus because there are strict rules to abide by, which also helps students from the harm of cigarettes and drinks.

While another reason to obey the rules is because by that, the youngster can be educated for things they should not do in their lives. For example, without serious rules, a youngster may make inferior choices in their life, like being sex-involved with another teenager, which are illegal in the modern society. Since most of the youngsters under 20 are still in school, they are not financially independent from their parents. If the teenage girl is pregnant, they would not be able to raise a kid, and in the end the girl may need to go through abortion. Whether if they want the baby is going to cost a lot for both families. However, thanks to today's laws, youngsters is forbidden to have sex with people under certain age, which is to educate people to have wiser choices in their lives.

From the reasons above, I believe I can draw the conclusion that the rules in the present society is not too strict for young people to obey. As the laws protect the youngsters from hurting themselves, and also offer better choices for them to follow, the benefits of the laws outsmart the downsides of them. Thus, here I restate my standpoint that the rules young people have to obey are not too strict.