Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

There are always different opinions on how parents should award their children whenever they do a good job in school. The most common way is to give out money to appreciate their hard work. However, as far as I am concerned, I do not stand for this way of awarding children, because it has more disadvantages than advantages. The reasons are as followed.

While it is true that money could serve as a motive for children to study and get high score, the motive itself is poisonous. In my high school, there was a time when students could get money when they score high. Yet as soon as the policy was abolished, some of the students didn't work that hard as before. Apparently, this method had served as a wrong motive for student to learn. Learning should be self-driven and inspiring. Furthermore, it is said that one should learn for oneself, not for other things. If money is involved, learning would lose its true color.

Second, most kids are not aware of how to use money in a correct way, thus giving them money is not appropriate. Take myself as an example, I never saved those money I earned from the scholarship, instead, I spent it lavishly on some toys and candies. What it left for me was just vain happiness and a mouth of cavities. Thus, I strongly believe that only if one is well educated on managing money properly could he be able to hold that award.

Also, there are better ways to award a child when they get high score in the school. For instance, parents could buy them more books to read, which are not in the curriculum. Most students now don't get the chance to read books other than textbooks. This may encourage the child to absorb more knowledge and in a way entertain himself as well. Or parents could plan a field trip, which, too, enables the child to learn from the mother nature.

In my opinion, though giving out money could sometimes do the trick to enhance children's learning motives, it would be better if they know who they are actually learning for, and the importance of money usage. Moreover, there're multiple ways to award a child. More ways that convey parents' care about a child doesn't necessarily involve money.