One of the most challenge problems in modern society is to have the most up-to-date skills for workplace. For solving this problem, the government decides to give all adults over the age of 25 a training course to learn new skills. Do you think it is an effective way for government to spend its money?

Whether the government should give all adults a training course to learn new skill or not is widely discussed. Many people feel that the help from the government is necessary. However, a trend that has existed recently is that an increasing number of adults take additional lessons after working. And I strongly believe that it is not an effective way for the government to spend its money for the following reasons.

First of all, not everyone has interests and willingness to learn new things. To be concise, people usually feel exhausted after working all day. They just want to go home and take break as soon as possible. Take me for example, I am a dental assistant, and generally finish work at 11 PM. My job is to assist dentist for treating patients, so I have to walk around to acquire dental material for dentists and communicate with patients patiently which consumes a lot of energy. After work, I would stay on sofa and watch Korean dramas. I do not have any energy to learn new skills, and I am reluctant to use personal time to absorb knowledge for workplace.

Furthermore, giving all adults a course is not necessary. To be concise, people who want to improve themselves would spend money to take lessons automatically. For instance, my friend Cathy works in an accounting department and she has to communicate with international clients in English mail. Sometimes she would be corrected by her supervisor. Therefore she decides to attend the lecture called “How to Write Business English Mails.” Besides, holding classes means finding locations as classrooms, recruiting teachers, and purchasing equipment etc., which cost a lot of money and labor.

Admittedly, some people might consider it is more advantageous for the government to spend money on courses for all adults. Due to the help with the government, training course might be cheaper than what private companies would charge, which could increase people’s interest to participate. However, spending money for all adults can not solve the problem It still depends on personal willingness. In short, it is not an effective way for government to spend its money.